Ahlus Sunnah wal Jamaah

the empire strikes back…

you got Beef?

Posted by abu ameerah on Friday, July 27, 2007

Beef?

No…not this kind..(way tooo rare!)

beef21.jpg

Nope. Not this kind either … still toooo rare …

beef2.jpg

 

Still … not completely done …

beef22.gif

 

 

Yep. That’s more like it. “Beef” … kinda like this …

gotbeef.jpg

 

 

Beef [beef] noun, plural beeves [beevz]

–noun

1. the flesh of a cow, steer, or bull raised and killed for its meat.
2. an adult cow, steer, or bull raised for its meat.
3. Informal.

a. brawn; muscular strength.
b. strength; power.
c. weight, as of a person.
d. human flesh.
4. Slang.

a. a complaint.
b. an argument or dispute.

–verb (used without object)

5. Slang. to complain; grumble.

Beef? Beef? Who got Beef? Well it seems that a certain blogger, earlier this week, fired what may have been the opening salvo — if you will — in a tit-for-tat internet brawl that only the creators of Myspace and “Who Wants To Marry A Millionaire” could have have come up with. This is a “beef” … but not the kind that is for dinner … more like the kind that has the potential to result in internet jaw-jockeying and a whole lot of “he-said, he-said” nonsense. No, this isn’t an “East Coast / West Coast” thing. It isn’t a Biggie vs. Pac thing (actually if it was…Umar would have to be Tupac and I would have to be the Notorious BIG since I’m packin’ the pounds if you know what I saying).

Anyway, it seems that brother Umar Lee had a conniption earlier this week after reading a post that I had written in reference to the whole Lal Masjid fiasco in Pakistan. Well, wouldn’t you know, after reading the post (and focusing only upon a small portion toward the end) Brother Umar had to respond and…well…um…he GAVE-IT! He gave it FULL FORCE … without warning … without any hesitation … without any reservations whatsoever. He didn’t alert the townspeople of his assault. He didn’t bother giving the women and children time to disembark from the ship. He didn’t even allow the elderly & physically handicapped the time needed to don lifejackets and safely board lifeboats. No, instead he just GAVE IT! He literally gave it Godzilla style. Only in this case … he (Umar Lee) represents Bloggerzilla and I am merely the helpless nation of Japan trying to flee from impending doom.

Well Umar Lee, it seems that you’ve achieved your goal of doing what amounts to a digital drive-by (or an uppercut at the very least) … how ’bout I respond now that some of the hype (or something to that effect) has died down? Actually, I will simply be responding for the sake of clarification Inshallah, and not in the “in-your-face”/accusatory kind of manner, the way you did. There are two reasons for my taking a different approach: 1) I have no desire to be pulled down any further into the mud … as it appears that this is where you and a select cadre made up some of your most rabid supporters and fellow Muslim blog leaders seem to fester 2) I don’t want to add much more “noise” to a situation that could have otherwise (had you chosen) been handled much differently.

So, one might ask, what makes a leading Muslim blogger like Umar Lee with a Technorati ranking of 37,274 come all the way down (to create some mess) to the level of a novice like myself boasting a pathetic an atrocious/disgusting/offensive Technorati ranking of 218,155?

Could it be:

a) Anger

b) Revenge

c) Ignorance of the Islamic etiquette in dealing with others when one believes that he/she has been wronged

d) All of the above.

Allah (Azza wa’Jall) knows best, and I would rather not speculate, yet it may be that an online culture of shooting-off at the mouth (to personally attack and denigrate others) and ego may have a lot to do with it. In other words, perceived self-importance at its very worst, if you will. Nonetheless, I was called a number of names and personally attacked by brother Umar Lee, albeit in grade school fashion. I could have simply chosen to keep my mouth shut … allowed the accusations to stand … and just let the big-bad Muslim blog leader get away with it. But, why should I? Am I somehow bound not to respond according to the sacred Law of our Creator (AWJ)? If Umar Lee can hold opinions (and make them known in such a public manner) … why shouldn’t I be able to express my opinions or at least respond to such an attack? What to do? Oh, what to do?

The fact of the matter is that I do intend to respond, inshallah. And away we go…

Umar Lee writes:

“This is what I was thinking about before brother Abu Ameerah, someone who has been repeatedly critical of my writing and written in a pretentious way of the kind of religious “know it all guy” everyone hates to be around, tried to covertly attack Tariq Nelson and myself. In other words, more pompous than pious in his writing.”

“He did not mention either of us by name but anyone who has read what we have written knows who he is talking about and he should have been a man and showed a little courage and just came out and said it instead of doing what is the equivalent to punching a guy in the back and then running before he can turn around and that is the difference between Abu Ameerah and myself; I do not hide behind false pieties and I say what I mean and mean what I say and if I think something I come right out and say it.”

“There may be some truth in this that American-Muslims are often promoted to be a public face for Muslims in America; but more often than not you will find masjids in America ran by people who cannot clearly speak the English language, do not understand the society they live in, and have a whole host of cultural baggage they try and pass off as Islam.”

“There is a saying in English “attack the message not then messenger” and I think that is what Abu Ameerah is doing with Tariq and myself and what is the root of his anger? The root of this that this brother adheres to a “back home” mentality of ignoring problems and not speaking of them and hoping they will go away and if they cannot go away then making a conspiracy to explain them away and that is his cultural baggage. He is more than happy to point out the faluts in others but as soon as someone points a finger and those near to him he gets this mentality.”

“This was first on display when he, along with a few others, accused me of being a Sufi, with no evidence to the claim, during my Rise and Fall of the Salafi Dwah series, and then AA himself basically accused me of being a liar and saying I did not see what I did see but was too cowardly to come right out and say it and the root of his anger was that I was talking about things which he felt should have been ignored and not discussed. Well, sorry akh, I am not shutting up, and your little Internet rants do not impress me, and if you want to shut me up you will have to kill me and I think all of your homeboys who could do the killing are busy doing stupid stuff in Kashmir and blowing themselves up in Pakistan in order to overthrow the corrupt ruler of a falied state created more than a half-century ago by a British puppet.”

1. “…someone who has been repeatedly critical of my writing…

Hmmm…let’s see. How many times have I been “critical” of your writing? You could probably count the number of times on one hand (likely minus the thumb) if you wanted. In terms of your actual style of writing (grammar & mechanics) … I don’t see much of a problem. However, I think it wouldn’t hurt you to use the spellchecker that wordpress offers.

2. “…written in a pretentious way of the kind of religious “know it all guy” everyone hates to be around…

I, too, could think of quite a few…shall we say…colorful adjectives to describe you and your blog right about now akhi. Also, today is Yawm al-Jumuah so I’ll do my best to refrain, inshallah. A”religious know-it-all guy” … Moi? I have usually refrained from getting into religious debates with you or your supporters as this ultimately serves no purpose. Also, I think others that actually take your blog seriously have gotten into it with you much worse (in terms of religious matters) akhi.

3. “…tried to covertly attack Tariq Nelson and myself.

Wow! “Covertly” huh? Was this some kind of CIA sponsored black-op akhi? Get your mind out of conspiracy theory land and try writing something of substance for once. Allow me to be clear on this: When I sat down to write the original post I had no idea what your opinion on the Lal Masjid situation was (and neither would I have cared frankly). I know it is hard akhi … but I want you to keep in mind that THE WORLD DOES NOT REVOLVE AROUND YOU! I realize that I have, unfortunately, commented on your blog in the past. Yet…both you and the blog are really of no consequence to the vast majority of Muslims who do not live for the “Jihad of Umar”. In other words…the world is full of so much more than simply your inane observations. Don’t take it too hard akhi…I tried to break it to you as gently as I could. Here’s a tissue.

4. “…more pompous than pious in his writing…

My writing is “pompous” akhi? LOL… Have you taken a hard look at your own writing recently? Well, akhi, hate to break it to you … but … the overly opinionated and culturally chauvinistic tone that you have demonstrated in your writing is quite clearly on display and available for all of your many readers to see. The way in which you deal with (and obsess over) issues of race, ethnicity, nationality, and culture is rife with a sense of an “Us vs. Them” notion amongst fellow believers of all people. Well, I suppose that I would be a more pious individual if I did an analysis of The Sopranos … or if I wrote about the movie 300 … or if I made reference to a skanky model in my blog. Sound familiar? It’s that good ‘ole fashion moderate Muslim piety on display, right?! TASTY!

5. “…he should have been a man and showed a little courage and just came out and said it…

I won’t attack your manhood akhi … but if attacking others and lacking adab in dealing with believers is in any way the mark of a man … then YOU DA’ MAN akhi! YOU DA’ MAN! Allow me to make mention, once again, that the original post was NOT directed toward you! I was merely recalling my own dealings with Muslims in organizations that I have been a part of. Also, as we will see later on … you accuse me of calling you are Sufi. How could I have the courage to do that (which I did not) and yet I would not have the courage to call you out on my own blog? Makes no sense if you ask me.

6. “I do not hide behind false pieties and I say what I mean and mean what I say and if I think something I come right out and say it.”

Nope! No sir! You don’t “hide”. You just rudely go on the attack without giving a brother the benefit of the doubt. I mean … you could have simply dropped me an email. However, I suppose that wouldn’t have garnered the attention and smack-down controversy you were looking for. I mean, if it is your intention to be the Don Imus of the Muslim blogosphere … then go ahead be my guest!

Hey Umar, am I hiding now?

7. “…I think that is what Abu Ameerah is doing with Tariq and myself and what is the root of his anger?”

Again…I go back to the point. How did you know that I was attacking either you or Br. Tariq Nelson? I suppose, you know what is in the hearts of the believers? How can you be sure that I was attacking you? If there was a doubt … couldn’t you have emailed me … or left a comment (in the Lal Masjid posting) for me to respond to?

8. “…this brother adheres to a “back home” mentality of ignoring problems and not speaking of them and hoping they will go away and if they cannot go away then making a conspiracy to explain them away and that is his cultural baggage.”

You have beaten the “back home mentality” point to death akhi. You seem to use it quite often. Particularly, when brothers/sisters disagree with you on a point or simply with the way in which you dealt with a particular issue. I don’t think this tactic works with me akhi. I hold the same citizenship and nationality as you akhi. My skin tone (and that of my parents) may differ from yours … but that doesn’t mean that I ascribe to some kind of convoluted “back home” mentality as you have asserted. See, akhi, my “back home” is right here … just like you … I have nowhere else to go at the moment. My point, akhi, is that as Muslims we should use hikmah in dealing with situations … rather than resorting to a Jerry Springer style airing of the dirty the laundry so to speak.

Since we are on the topic of “cultural baggage” akhi, I think that you should also deal with your baggage. Unfortunately your baggage seems to permeate nearly every post you write about issues related to Muslims (either foreign or native born).

9. “He is more than happy to point out the faluts in others but as soon as someone points a finger and those near to him he gets this mentality.”

I was thinking the same about you akhi. Small world isn’t it?! LOL

10. “…accused me of being a Sufi, with no evidence to the claim, during my Rise and Fall of the Salafi Dwah series…

When did I ever (directly) accuse of you of being, or refer to you as, a Sufi? I thought the “Rise and Fall…” series was somewhat of a joke … but beyond that I never recall having called you a Sufi. What would be wrong if someone were to call you a Sufi anyway? Do you have something against Sufis? Try to be more clear akhi.

11. “…and then AA himself basically accused me of being a liar…

Don’t give me “basically” … that nonsense. Did I actually refer to you as a liar? If I did … the bring the proof akhi. I do recall disagreeing with you that you were a regular attendee of The Center for Islamic Information and Education (Dar al Arqam). I know that you attended the dars a number of times as I would often see you there. Once in particular you were telling a group of us brothers sitting on the floor (including Shiekh Ali), after Salat al Isha, about your travels to Israel. I specifically remember that you made mention of the fact that the Israeli authorities did not harass you while you on the actual trip.

12. “…the root of his anger was that I was talking about things which he felt should have been ignored and not discussed.”

Uhhh…No. I have simply disagreed with the central argument that you made in “The Rise and Fall…” series, akhi. That in no way means that I’m in favor of sweeping critical matters (that impact Muslim) beneath the rug — no matter how many times you say to the contrary.

13. “…I am not shutting up, and your little Internet rants do not impress me…

No one has told you to shut up…even though it seems we’re getting close to that point. Also, what do you call your post about me? If not a “rant” … then was it some kind of UN fact finding mission report? Furthermore, nothing you do or have done up to this point has impressed me “akh” … and I could care less what newspaper you rant write for or what radio show you go on.

14. “…if you want to shut me up you will have to kill me…

You have also used this line in one of your blog postings before. Only then, you seemed to want terrorists or Iraqis with “sharp knives” and bombs to kill you. Is it me or does someone have a death wish? The fact of the matter is that nobody is trying to kill you akhi. Well, I don’t know how many people you’ve managed to irritate in St. Louis or NYC … so I’ll just say that I doubt anyone is trying to kill you. Relax akhi. Lighten’ up! Either you are stressed out or the “kill me” reference has something to do a soap opera audition. I know that such dramatic statements bring more readers to your blog akhi … but I really don’t care for it.

15. “…all of your homeboys who could do the killing are busy doing stupid stuff in Kashmir and blowing themselves up in Pakistan in order to overthrow the corrupt ruler…

What the … ? It’s “brothers” like you… making such asinine allegations that helped McNulty and Kromberg secure (bogus) convictions in the case of the “Virginia 11” including the like Sheikh Ali al Timimi or Br. Sabri ben Kahla or the rest of the “Virginia 11” (May Allah Azza Wa’Jall free them from the hands of the tawagheet, ameen!)

Also, I think your reference to Kashmir and the militancy in that particular region of conflict is a bit of a red herring, in and of itself. You tend to do this whenever you lack a cohesive argument or when you just want to bring negative attention upon someone. Therefore, anyone who differs with you on a particular matter can easily be linked to “terrorists” … or militant groups … or whatever you feel like. Kashmir had nothing to do with my Lal Masjid post and yet you felt like bringing that in. I find that interesting and pathetic at the same time.

Ultimately, akhi, you still likely would have remained the brave man that your are — had you simply emailed me in the first place. The choice was yours to make.

***UPDATE***

When you lack a response…this is what you do…a halfhearted attempt, at best, by the Blogger Currently Known as Umar Lee. I will continue to stand by my original post on the Lal Masjid as well as the above clarification and response to Lee’s attack. Umar Lee has offered no proof to defend his accusations … until then I will continue to regard them as nothing more than exaggerated speech.  Furthermore, I doubt if he even read the entire post.

So, in closing, when you lack a response … do as Umar Lee does … simply reassert your original point or argument (even if it is incorrect). To be quite honest, I expected more from such an acclaimed and well-known Muslim blogger.

14 Responses to “you got Beef?”

  1. Abu Abdullah said

    Assalaamu Alaikum, you brothers need to stop wasting time of this blogging stuff. Whats the benefit? I hope that we are not commiting sins by writing things thats no benefit in the End. Assalaamu Alaikum

  2. The issue with Dar Al-Arqam is quite interesting. I’ve only been there a handful of times when it was on South Washington Road/Lee Highway. Yet, during those few times that I went, I never ever saw Mr. Omar Lee except once or twice.

    I don’t know Omar Lee personally but I feel that he seems to be very angry. It seems that his “rants” about people has finally backfired on him. Unfortunately, it’s not healthy for Muslims to be engaging in such childish “Hiroshima/Nagasaki” blogosphere warfare, but I do say that if Umar started this, then you Abu Ameerah just ended it.

    Hats off to you for being direct, funny and respectful in your clarification.

    كما تدين تدان من ضحك ضُحِك عليه من قال ما لا ينبغي سمع عن ما لا يشتهي

    Whatever goes around comes around. Whoever laughed/scoffed (at someone) he will be laughed at. Whoever says things that are not fitting for him, he will hear distasteful things (about himself).

  3. @ Abu Abdullah:

    I was merely responding to accusations that were made against me. I don’t think that there is anything inherently wrong with that.

    And Allah (Azza wa’Jall) knows best.

    @ ExEx Blogger:

    “…it’s not healthy for Muslims to be engaging in such childish “Hiroshima/Nagasaki” blogosphere warfare…”

    I agree. On a slightly different note, I was thinking of possible responses that could be made to me in regard to this post:

    1. “I know what I saw … and I saw what I know, akh.”
    2. More name calling…
    3. More accusations…
    4. More distortions of truth…
    5. “You didn’t establish the HAQ, akh!”

    5.

  4. Abs said

    I’m glad someone said it before me. I think this is all quite childish.

  5. Amad said

    U have a knack for humor, i have to admit!

    w/s

  6. amad said

    You have a knack for humor man, i have to admit… this was pretty full-force if there is anything that could be called such. The trend of blog machoism is as despicable as tabloid blogging…

  7. Truce said

    Whats a good fight without commentary.

    Abu Ameerah gets some early jabs in there with his maybe in-direct punches, then Umar comes back and launches a direct in your face hay-maker, which pushes Abu Ameerah to the ropes. Abu Ameerah then comes back with a sarcastic and condensending over hand right, which back Umar up, but Umar is coming back in.

    I’m sorry I got sucked in to it, it was better than Winky Wright and Bernard Hopkins fight though.

    1st. Its sounds like history between you two, outside of your respective blogs.

    2nd Essentially Blogs are opinion pieces, which like newspaper strive for a bigger audience, thus a certain writing style of BLOGGERS to ensare unsuspecting BLOGEES. If you put your personal opinion out there in the blogisphere, its fair game to agree or disagree but fellas lets have some etiquette.

  8. @ Amad

    “The trend of blog machoism is as despicable as tabloid blogging…”

    I agree. There is a lot of arrogance behind it…

  9. neveragain said

    Assalaamualaikum Warahmatullah,

    I am not a blogger, I do not like the idea of reading blogs, and I have never read a blog before this.

    Inshallah, I won’t make this mistake I made tonight again.

    May Allah unite both you Br. Abu Ameerah and Br. Umar Lee in the highest places of Jannah, increase you both in adab and ikhlaas, and allow you to be individuals of benefit to this ummah and not a cause for its destruction.

    Please make dua for me ikhwan, that I utilize my free time in beneficial matters, and of course, for the attainment of the beauties of the Hereafter.

  10. Oh god, Neveragain, you’re making it sound like as if AA an UL are estranged couples.

  11. So who won?

  12. @ RYDER:

    Certainly not me. I’m just a fat loser.

    :/

  13. When I get in beef with another blogger, I just apologize, even though I’m right and everyone knows it. Why do I apologize? Because in the next week, everyone will forget about it. Plus I’ll get the reward for ending the beef.

    😀

  14. @ RYDER:

    Ya, akhi. I agree with your apology method. I merely wanted to respond in the first place merely for the sake of clarification … since a number of accusations were made and names were called. I can’t help it if the Brother doesn’t accept my clarification or like the way that I went about doing it.

    Also, there are a number of things that bother me about this whole situation. Among them are that we don’t give our brothers the benefit of the doubt … we go on the offensive rather than seek clarification (via email or in person or whatever) … or choose to publicly continue the “beef” by making supposedly humorous observations in future posts.

    I think Amad said it best with his use of the term “blog machoism” …

Leave a Reply

 
