Ahlus Sunnah wal Jamaah

the empire strikes back…

irritated…

Posted by abu ameerah on Friday, July 20, 2007

Came back from Salat al Jummah not too long ago. The whole experience was rather unpleasant. I suppose that I have to get used to this … now that I am no longer near a normal Muslim community. Anyway, I arrived at the Masjid late (the Khateeb was also late) and parked in the muddy field area. Actually that wasn’t so bad. Alhamdulillah, I was able to leave the Masjid much faster after the Khutbah was over — leaving the Masjid is pretty much my only highlight for Jummah these days.

So I enter the masjid and….. Ohhhhhhhhhhhhh! Allah Paak Parwardegar-e-Alam!!!! The Khateeb for today is a well known innovator! Actually, he has been our Guest-Khateeb before … but it has been a while since he last gave a Khutbah and I just hoped that community (and its ever so ignorant leadership) simply forgot about this guy. Despite my hopes, unfortunately, this wasn’t to be the case. I should have known something was up since this guy has been coming to the Masjid for the last 3 Fridays.

GREAT! I think to myself. That’s just freakin’ Great!

So I quickly (and ever so frantically — like a deer in headlights) look to find a place to sit and situate myself … and what do I see … I notice our “dear” sisters sitting in their appointed SISTERS AREA … looking like a bunch of colorful butterflies as they swooooon away at the words of our Innovator Deviant Khateeb. The Sisters Area is another point of contention that I have with this Masjid … they literally sit right behind the brothers. I kid you not … right FREAKIN’ behind. No partition (because that would certainly be a “wahabi” thing) … no modesty … no distance … nothing. Why not just pray right next to me? How about that? That way… instead of focusing on the Khutbah … the brothers (who aren’t married) can think about suitable candidates for marriage. Sound good huh? TASTY. I just wanna eat that idea up…

So I find a place. I thought it was as far as I could possibly be from our “dear” sisters and damned if I wasn’t wrong. I could have managed to squeeze my rather large frame over to the verrrrrrry verrrrry right hand side of the Masjid — however I thought that area was full. Well….boo-hoo for me. I suppose I’m just that dumb.

I won’t get into all of the nonsense that the Khateeb spoke of (and tried to use as his Daleel) … as this would lead to another post in and of itself. However, for the purpose of clarification, I’ll just mention that the Khateeb used (as his first point) a quote from Abdul Qadir Jilani. WHAT THE ….. ?

Please don’t come to the defense of Jilani … there is no point. I am not some angry teenager who feels the need to attack scholars … but I do know a coded reference when I see one. As a well known (extreme) Sufi the Khateeb could have used references from soooooo many great scholars in Islamic history — but he chose Jilani. And, since I am not a complete fool, Alhamdulillah, I know what that means. ; ) Wink Wink.

Anyway, the Khateeb finishes his rant of a Khutbah. I leave ASAP. See brothers and sisters milling about in the lobby. Who cares about that, right? So I basically jet. I see no point dealing with these folks or making “suggestions” or giving advice as my father says. Many people, much better than I, have made suggestions and given advice to these people only to get completely shot down. So, let’s be honest, what is the point of a Wahabi-Salafist-Extreme-Militant-Radical-Nutter like myself going to say to these folks to change their minds?

What bothers me is not that there are people lack knowledge …

What bothers me is the Arrogance of those who lack knowledge.

 

4 Responses to “irritated…”

  1. Was this the same guy that said that the Prophet said to Aishah “shutup”. Authobillah.

  2. @ ExEx:

    His name is “Sheikh” Rashid Lamptey. He is the Imam.

    TASTY!

    😦

  3. Amatullah said

    Is he from ADAMS?

  4. Lamptey is still, unfortunately, affiliated with ADAMS … but is no longer an Imam there.

Leave a Reply

 
