Ahlus Sunnah wal Jamaah

the empire strikes back…

in search of the next, best gadget…

Posted by abu ameerah on Monday, June 11, 2007

I am technology retarded. I am computer, PDA, cell phone, Bluetooth, retarded. I am to technology what George Bush is to books. I have a technology learning curve that qualifies me to ride on the “little bus”. Remember how you used to make fun of the little bus when you were a kid in public school. The little bus was for the disabled and mentally challenged kids who attended your school … and unfortunately the bus became synonymous for: RETARD. Well… when it comes to technology… I need to get on that bus.

As technology becomes a more and more ubiquitous part of our daily lives I am finding the need to make myself somehow technology competent — either by learning whatever I can … or by reading about any new trends in technology. I just know that the longer I stay out the loop … the harder it will be trying to get a handle on things later. I think that it is quite possible that by the time my daughter is out of highschool (or even middle school for that matter) she will already know HTML — at least if it is still as relevant a decade or more from now.

Here is an interesting article that looks at the relationship between politics and the tech sector:

http://www.sacbee.com/111/story/214161.html

4 Responses to “in search of the next, best gadget…”

  1. man i use to be in the top clicks
    😦

  2. clearout said

    try reading Engadget.com often. It keeps me up to date with tech. As for everything else, digg.com helps.

  3. clearout said

    also, use http://en.wikipedia.org to look up tech terms, and if it is still confusing, go to http://howstuffworks.com and look up things there.

  4. You’re not doing so badly, you know. It takes most bloggers well over a year to figure out how to change the text colour.

Leave a Reply

 
